Skip to main content

Greenville Business Magazine

Greenville Country Club Announces 2018 Board of Governors

Feb 05, 2018 05:04PM ● By Kathleen Maris

The Greenville Country Club elected its 2018 Board of Governors at its recent annual meeting of the club’s members. Officers serve a one-year term under the Club’s newly elected President Matthew Smith. New at-large members of the board serve a three-year term.

Smith is a director at Elliott Davis, LLC, where he is part of the Consulting & Advisory practice, providing operations and financial management services to clients in many industries. Smith has previously served as Greenville Country Club’s vice president and treasurer. He graduated from Wake Forest University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Accounting and is a licensed CPA holding a certificate in South Carolina.

“I am honored to be trusted with this responsibility as Greenville Country Club’s new president,” Smith said. “I look forward to serving the GCC community and continuing the Club’s expansion and progression unrivaled by any other Club in South Carolina.”

Smith will lead Greenville Country Club’s Board of Governors and will be supported by four additional officers:

Hamilton E. “Bo” Russell, III, partner with Nelson, Mullins, Riley & Scarborough LLP, as vice president; W. Keith Walker, Piedmont Oral Surgery P.A., as secretary; Frank R. Wrenn, III, president of Crescent Capital Partners, as treasurer; and John R. Reynolds, vice president and managing general counsel of Fluor Corporation, the board's immediate past president.

An additional nine Governors make up the rest of the Greenville Country Club Board of Governors:

George A. Campbell, Jr.; Marion R. Crawford; Howard L. Einstein; Michael D. Fletcher; J. Wesley Harden; Brian L. Hungerford; Jonathan E. Miller; Kelly L. Odom; and Jeff S. Powell.