Skip to main content

Greenville Business Magazine

Mentors Chosen For Liberty Fellowship’s 15th Class

Twenty-one innovative leaders who have made lasting impact on the state are mentoring the Fellows in Liberty Fellowship’s class of 2020. Accomplished and successful, these mentors are diverse in thought and experience and each has pushed for progress in South Carolina.

“These established leaders have invested in South Carolina, moving the state forward across sectors and in various capacities,” commented Ann Marie Stieritz, Liberty Fellowship president & CEO. “Their candid advising and guidance from their leadership experience helps the Fellows navigate moving from success to significance and assess how best to work collectively for the good of South Carolina. We’re especially excited to add ten new individuals to four veteran mentors and seven Liberty Fellows in assembling this year’s group of mentors.”

Being paired with a mentor is an integral part of the Class of 2020’s Fellowship experience, which also includes attending five seminars over the course of 18 months. One seminar – the Aspen Institute Globalization Seminar – places them with Fellows from similar programs in cities around the world. Mentors also guide the Fellows on their personal leadership projects.

“The art of mentoring is the art of drawing on experiential wisdom, empathy, and sound judgment,” added Hayne Hipp, who co-founded Liberty Fellowship with his wife, Anna Kate. “Our mentors are dedicated to helping Fellows trust their own inner compass, the hallmark of a true leader.”

These are the mentors for the Liberty Fellowship Class of 2020:

John Bauknight*, Broker, NAI Earle Furman – mentoring Robert Hughes

Craig Brown, President and Owner, Greenville Drive – mentoring Ellis Fisher

Tally Casey*, Chair, Wyche, P.A. – mentoring Chris Wolfe

Halsey M. Cook, Jr., President and CEO, Milliken & Co. – mentoring Wade Wallace

Charlie Cumbaa, Advisory Board, Pamlico Capital – mentoring Patrick Bryant

Sam Esfahani, Chief Information Officer, AgFirst Farm Credit Bank – mentoring J.E.B. Wilson

Kodwo Ghartey-Tagoe, State President for SC, Duke Energy – mentoring Jon Good

Darrin Goss, Sr.*, President and CEO, Coastal Community Foundation – mentoring Ginny Williams

Douglas S. Haugh, President, Parkland USA – mentoring Kenneth Canty

Ozey Horton, Jr., Director Emeritus, McKinsey & Company – mentoring Jake Scott

Rachel Hutchisson, VP, Corporate Citizenship & Philanthropy, Blackbaud – mentoring Michèle Patrão Forsythe

Chris King, Co-Founder and CEO, IDV (dba SpeedTree) – mentoring Sherard Duvall

Melinda Davis Lux*, M&A Partner, Womble Bond Dickinson (US) – mentoring Betsy Anthony

Barbara Melvin*, COO, South Carolina Ports Authority – mentoring Lisa Turansky

Heather Mitchell*, President, BOUDREAUX – mentoring Amy Urquhart

Richard H. Pennell, Jr., President and CEO, Metromont Corporation – mentoring Ted Swann

Joel A. Smith, III, Dean Emeritus, Darla Moore School of Business, USC – mentoring Micah Caskey

Diane Smock, Attorney – mentoring Kimberly Witherspoon

Inez Tenenbaum, Attorney, Wyche, P.A. – mentoring Emily Farr

Greg A. Thompson, President and CEO, Thompson Construction Group, Inc. – mentoring Will Wheeler

Bea Wray*, Author/Keynote speaker – mentoring Rozalynn Goodwin

*Liberty Fellow

To view more details, visit To learn more about the Fellows in the Class of 2020, click here.