Skip to main content

Greenville Business Magazine

SCBIO Announces 2019 Board Of Directors, New Members

Feb 11, 2019 10:31AM ● By Kathleen Maris

Less than two years after initiating a comprehensive relaunch of the state’s official life sciences organization, SCBIO has expanded its Board of Directors for its 501c6 operational entity and added a second 10-member Board for its 501c3 research and educational arm for 2019. It does so having authored the state’s first-ever life sciences strategic growth plan, conducted an economic impact study validating the contributions of the $11.4 billion industry, tripled revenues, and quadrupled membership – all since Spring 2017.

And, according to SCBIO President and CEO Sam Konduros, the best and most exciting days for the industry and organization are still ahead of it.

“In a state perhaps best known for building BMWs and Boeing Dreamliners, there is a very strong life sciences story brewing as well, creating opportunities to diversify and accelerate growth of our state’s knowledge economy,” said Konduros recently. He further cited rapid growth of such national and global brands including Nephron Pharmaceuticals, Arthrex, ZEUS, Abbott, Thorne, and AVX as just a few examples of the state’s rapidly rising life sciences industry, which currently spans more than 400 companies in 44 counties and employs more than 15,000 well-paid associates.

Leading the policy- and strategy-making efforts of the 501c6 entity of the nonprofit organization, the Board of Directors meets regularly to receive updates on SCBIO business objectives and domestic and global initiatives, as well as to help hone strategies and offer insight. Nephron Pharmaceuticals Corporation CEO Lou Kennedy will serve as SCBIO’s 2019 board chair; Stephanie Yarbrough, Womble Bond Dickinson, LLP, as vice chair; Michael Rusnak, Medical University of South Carolina Research Foundation, as treasurer; and Josh Ridley of ZEUS as secretary. 

Jeff Stover of Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, PA will serve as legal officer; Heather Simmons Jones of the Greenwood Partnership Alliance as annual conference officer; Bryan Davis of Prisma/Greenville Health System’s Office of Innovations as healthcare/innovation officer; Adam Hoots of DPR Construction as talent/workforce officer; and Sam Konduros as president and CEO of SCBIO.

Recently added members of the SCBIO Board of Directors are:

  • Mike Briggs – President & CEO, Central SC Alliance
  • Caroline Brown – Director of External Affairs, Medical University of South Carolina
  • Thornton Kirby – President & CEO, South Carolina Hospital Association
  • Adam Klonecke – Senior Site Director, Abbott
  • Angie Leidinger – VP of External Affairs, Clemson University
  • Tom McKenna – Chief Operating Officer, Thorne
  • Robert Ryan – CEO & Founder, Innova Therapeutics
  • Dave Shalaby – President, Poly-Med, Inc.
  • Will Williams – President & CEO, Economic Development Partnership (Aiken)
  • Cynthia Young – Dean, Clemson University College of Science

Returning members of the SCBIO Board for 2019 are:

  • Mandy Brawley – South Carolina Department of Commerce
  • Matthew Couvillion – Wyche Law Firm
  • John J. Darby – Johnson & Johnson Services
  • Tressa Gardner – SE Institute of Manufacturing & Technology
  • Mike Graney – Charleston Regional Development Alliance
  • Chad Hardaway – University of South Carolina Office of Economic Engagement
  • Will Harms – Blue Cross Blue Shield of SC
  • Erica Jackson – K&L Gates
  • Marc Metcalf – Upstate SC Alliance
  • Kathy Phlegar – Phlegar & Associates
  • Christine Dixon Thiesing – SCRA
  • Courtney Warren – Marsh & McLennan Agency

Comprising the smaller Board of SCBIO’s 501c3 research and educational arm are Kathryn Becker of Translational Science Solutions; Michael Bolick of Treis Blockchain; Matthew Couvillion of Wyche Law Firm; Shontavia Johnson of Clemson University; Steve Johnson of SCRA; Chris Przirembel, retired Clemson University executive; Shawn Regan of Rhythmlink; Craig Walker of Hitachi Healthcare Americas; Erica Jackson of K&L Gates; and SCBIO CEO Sam Konduros.